Archive for December, 2014

 

December 22, 2014 • Cee • Lists

Dear Santa, 

You didn’t think I’d forget to make my wishlist, did you? I could never forget! It’s always the most exciting and painful thing to put together my wishlist. Here are a list of things I am hoping will be under my Christmas tree. Everything here is something I desperate want because a. they’re cute, b. it’ll complete my book collection, c. it’s insanely gorgeous, or d. the author or book is a fave. I’m pretty sure I’m missing a lot (like clothing and stuff), but these are off the top of my head.

1. Pick of the Critter Bag | 2. Endsinger by Jay Kristoff | 3. Hello Lucky Letterpress Cards | 4. Happy Mail stationery subscription | 5. Lovely and Lush Bag | 6. One Day Notebooks  | 7. Persuasion (Vintage Classics) by Jane Austen | 8. Picasso Cats Silk Scarf | 9. The Wicked + The Divine Volume 1 comic  | 10. Three Ladies art print | 11. Yes Please by Amy Poehler | 12. The Raven Cycle books by Maggie Stiefvater | 13. The Shadow of the Wind (Penguin Drop Caps) by Carlos Ruiz Zafon (Not pictured)

What about you? What’s on your wishlist?
Tags:




December 19, 2014 • Cee • Blog News

tnh two-riffic blogoversary

On this glorious day two years ago, The Novel Hermit was created.

It slowly grew up, reaching soo many milestones and making new friends. It is what it is today because of you guys, who continue to visit and show your love for it. It will, hopefully, continue to grow bigger and bigger, reaching new milestones. We shall celebrate in style! Let’s party and dance and throw confetti! Because it’s a wonderful day!
Read more »





December 17, 2014 • Cee • Reviews

Claire LaZebnik - The Last Best KissThe Last Best Kiss by Claire LaZebnik
April 22, 2014
Harper Teen
Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble |  The Book Depository

Anna Eliot is tired of worrying about what other people think. After all, that was how she lost the only guy she ever really liked, Finn Westbrook.

Now, three years after she broke his heart, the one who got away is back in her life.

All Anna wants is a chance to relive their last kiss again (and again and again). But Finn obviously hasn’t forgotten how she treated him, and he’s made it clear he has no interest in having anything to do with her.

Anna keeps trying to persuade herself that she doesn’t care about Finn either, but even though they’ve both changed since they first met, deep down she knows he’s the guy for her. Now if only she can get him to believe that, too….

With her signature wit and expertly authentic teen voice, Claire LaZebnik (the author of fan favorites Epic Fail and The Trouble with Flirting) once again breathes new life into a perennially popular love story. Fans of Polly Shulman, Maureen Johnson, and, of course, Jane Austen will love this irresistibly funny and romantic tale of first loves and second chances.

myreviewFirst sentence: “On nights when I’m honest with myself, I can admit that Finn Westbrook was the best thing about my ninth-grade year.”

I am a big sucker for Persuasion. It is one of my all-time favorite Jane Austen books, and it never fails to gut me, but The Last Best Kiss was just—ugh, I just want to erase it from my brain.

The Last Best Kiss is essentially a retelling of Persuasion. It tells of Anna Eliot, who breaks the heart of the boy she really likes, Finn Westbrook, because she’s worried about what people think of her. Then, a few years later, Finn returns to Anna’s life, and Anna can only regret the decision she made as her friends welcome Finn into their group, not realizing the two have a history. It’s a story that speaks of first loves and regret; one that failed to gain any of my sympathy and failed to connect me with the characters.

Read more »





December 14, 2014 • Cee • Discussion

yabccawards

I have gathered all the suggested award categories. (Thank you to all who submitted.)

AND IT’S FINALLY NOMINATION TIME!

Before I talk about how to nominate, I shall talk about what the YA Book Cover Choice Awards are. Very simple. I love book covers, especially YA ones, and was sadden that there weren’t any posts celebrating the awesomeness of them. The YA Book Cover Choice Awards (aka YABCCAwards) aim to honor all the wonderful (and not-so wonderful) book covers that were published in the past year. It will be nominated and voted by readers (à la Goodreads Choice Awards and the *Book Shimmy* Awards).

I’m keeping the categories simple for now. (Maybe next year, it will be more creative, but we’ll worry about that later.)

The rules:

  • You nominate a maximum of four books for each category.
  • Nominate the book you believe best fits that category.
  • You don’t have to fill out all the categories all at once. You can come back later.
  • Nominations will end 12/14 11:59 PM PST.

I know it’ll be a bit hard to remember the books that were published in 2014, so I decided to make it easy for you. After nearly two agonizing days, I put together allllll of the books published in 2014 into a Tumblr. You get a hugeee gallery of 2014 book covers called “YA Cover Galore!” You’re welcome. ;)

What are you waiting for?

Go share with your friends! Nominate the book covers you want to win for each category!





December 11, 2014 • Cee • Letters

liars inc paula stokes

Dear Paula Stokes and Liars, Inc,

Liar, liar, pants are on fire.

It all starts with one little lie…

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell lies to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money and liven up a boring senior year. With the help of his friends Preston and Parvati, Max starts a business providing forged permission slips and cover stories for the students of Vista Palisades High. Liars, Inc. they call it. Suddenly everybody needs something and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn’t think twice about hooking him up. Until Preston never comes home. Then the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead the cops to Preston’s body. Terrifying clues that point to Max as the murderer.

Can Max find the real killer before he goes to prison for a crime he didn’t commit?Goodreads

Read more »





December 8, 2014 • Cee • Recommendations

Do Me A Favor! is a new and sporadic feature where I ask, you, my dear friends and followers for recommendations of books, TV shows, Tumblrs, places, and just about anything I should check out.

I know I haven’t done one of these posts in forever, but THIS IS NOT A DRILL. I NEED YOUR HELP.

You know how I’m super into book covers? Well, guess what! I’ve decided to host:

YA Book Cover Choice Awards
(There will be a better banner.)

I was wondering why there wasn’t a “Best Of” celebration post or Book Cover Choice Awards specifically for YA covers that had been decided by readers. You have Epic Reads’ Book Shimmy Awards and Goodreads Choice Awards, but those aren’t based on the book cover designs. There are sites like Buzzfeed that create best book cover lists compiled by a single person (or what seems to be), but where are the best YA book covers picked by readers?

This is where you come in.

I need your help in coming up with award categories. Spare a few minutes and suggest what categories should be in this Book Cover Choice Awards in this form, tweet with the hashtag #YABCCAwards, or comment below.

The plan: Suggestions for award categories will close Thursday 12/11 9 PM PST, and book cover nominations will begin Saturday 12/13 (or perhaps sooner). Sound good? :)