Archive for April, 2016

 

April 30, 2016 • Cee • Monthly Recap

april

WHAT’S UP?

In April—

  • I bought signed copy of The Wicked + The Divine • Vol 3. – Commercial Suicide + had a wicked talk with the Valkyries at my LCBS. 

My LCBS had signed copies of WICDIV and Phonogram by the creators, and of course I needed to get it! I grabbed myself volume three, and WORTH EVERY PENNY. I’M SO HAPPY THAT I GOT IT BECAUSE IT IS MY FAVORITTEEEEEEE. Every time I look at it, I shake in excitement. IT IS MY PRECIOUS.

Read more »





April 29, 2016 • Cee • Reviews

Sleeping Giants

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel • April 26, 2016 • Del Rey Books (Random House)
WebsiteTwitter | Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository | Indigo | Library

A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power.

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

myreview

I received this book for free from Del Rey for review consideration. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

First sentence: “It was my eleventh birthday.”

Imagine the earth opening up below you, and you fall through and land in the palm of a giant metal hand that’s glowing turquoise with weird symbols carved on it. That’s exactly what happens to Rose Franklin when she was little. Nobody knows what this giant metal hand is or where it came from, but it’s there in the ground, and it sets off the greatest sci-fi mystery that Sleeping Giants strives to uncover.

Read more »





April 28, 2016 • Cee • Reviews

Wonder Woman at Super Hero High by Lisa Yee • March 1, 2016 • Random House Books for Young Readers
WebsiteTwitter | Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository | Indigo | Library

This groundbreaking new middle grade series follows DC Comics’ most iconic female Super Heroes and Super-Villains . . . as high schoolers. At Super Hero High, the galaxy’s most powerful teens nurture their powers and master the fundamentals of what it means to be a hero.

Wonder Woman isn’t like most high school students. Super Hero High isn’t like most high schools.

Wonder Woman is an Amazon warrior and princess. She has never left her home on Paradise Island. But she wants to be a super hero—the best super hero she can be. At Super Hero High, shae has to juggle intense training, new friendships, and a roommate who shares every embarrassing moment on social media. Not to mention…Wonder Woman has never seen a boy before.

This is going to be harder than she thought.

The wonderful folks at Random House asked me if I wanted to take part in a blog tour for Wonder Woman at Super Hero High, and you bet my answer was a YES. How can you say no to Wonder Woman? You absolutely cannot. Now, let me tell you all about the awesomeness of this cute book!

myreview

I received this book for free from Random House for blog tour + review consideration. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

First sentence: “It was barely the third week of school, and already someone had been expelled.”

Every kid wants to go to a magical school like Hogwarts or Super Hero High. Wonder Woman wants to too.

In this Middle Grade book, Wonder Woman has big plans to be one of the best superheroes ever, and to be the best, she wants to go to a school that’ll help her become that and even more. If that means she has to leave Paradise Island, the only place she’s ever known, she’ll do it. With her mother’s blessings, she sets off on an adventure that’ll help her become a great superhero, make wonderful lifetime-lasting friendships, learn to deal with “mean” girls (who Wonder Woman probably doesn’t see as being mean on the account of her trusting nature), find out who’s been leaving threatening notes to her, and much more.

Read more »





April 26, 2016 • Cee • Lists

tttfestivo

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where we list our top tens!

This week’s topic is “top ten eight bookworm delights.” Just think: things a bookworm will squeal in delight over. When these bookish things I love happen, my heart soaaarrrrs. I just want to pump my hand in the arm and scream, “yesssssssss.”

Read more »





April 24, 2016 • Cee • Reviews

Poison Is Not Polite

Poison Is Not Polite (Wells & Wong #2) by Robin Stevens • April 26, 2016 • Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
WebsiteTwitter | Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository | Indigo | Library

A tea party takes a poisonous turn leaving Daisy and Hazel with a new mystery to solve in the second novel of the Wells & Wong Mystery series.

Schoolgirl detectives Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong are at Daisy’s home, Fallingford, for the holidays. Daisy’s glamorous mother is throwing a tea party for Daisy’s birthday, and the whole family is invited, from eccentric Aunt Saskia to dashing Uncle Felix. But it soon becomes clear that this party isn’t about Daisy after all—and she is furious. But Daisy’s anger falls to the wayside when one of their guests falls seriously and mysteriously ill—and everything points to poison. It’s up to Daisy and Hazel to find out what’s really going on.

With wild storms preventing everyone from leaving, or the police from arriving, Fallingford suddenly feels like a very dangerous place to be. Not a single person present is what they seem—and everyone has a secret or two. And when someone very close to Daisy begins to act suspiciously, the Detective Society does everything they can to reveal the truth…no matter the consequences.

myreview

I received this book for free from Simon & Schuster for review consideration. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

First sentence: “Something dreadful has happened to Mr. Curtis.”

Guess who’s back! The Wells & Wong Detective Society are back at it again with a murder case that’s a little close to home.

At Fallingford (Daisy Wells’ home) for the holidays, Daisy and Hazel Wong find themselves surrounded by people (most who reside at the house or are guests) acting all sorts of suspicious with the arrival of Denis Curtis, a “friend” of Lady Hastings. What is wrong with all these adults? When one of guest falls ill from a poisoning, Daisy and Hazel realize the culprit is still in Fallingford, and it is up to them to get to the bottom of it.

Read more »





April 23, 2016 • Cee • Comics

from panel to panel

I love comics and graphic novels, so what do I do with that love? Well, I turn it into a new feature!

From Panel to Panel is a new feature where I talk about the awesome (and perhaps not-so awesome) comic books and graphic novels I’ve read. Basically, this will be me pushing them onto your laps. You’re welcome.

TIME TO GET EXCITED, FOLKS. I may have missed March’s post, but I come bearing awesome comics I’m excited for (and you should too!) that were published in March and April!

You will see a Canary kicking ass and singing her heart out, fabulous DC ladies set during WWII, an old classic that’s been revamped, teenagers from the 1980s during an alien invasion, and much more!

Get your shopping carts loaded with all these comics!

BLACK CANARY · VOL. 1 – KICKING AND SCREAMING

Dinah Lance hits the road! After years as a soldier and vigilante, the last place Dinah saw herself is on stage … but she’s quickly learning she’d die to protect the gang of misfits she’s fallen into. And she just might have to—for some reason, the newly rechristened band Black Canary seems to be a magnet for trouble … and Dinah’s not gonna believe it when she finds out the reason why!

From the pages of BATGIRL, Martial arts, super-spies, and rock ‘n’ roll combine here in the superheroine’s solo series BLACK CANARY VOL. 1. Written by Brenden Fletcher (BATGIRL) and art by Annie Wu (HAWKEYE), this graphic novel collects BLACK CANARY #1-7. — DC Comics

Publication date: March 2, 2016 by DC Comics

Buy: LCBS · Amazon · Barnes & Noble · The Book Depository · Indigo · Comixology

Why I’m excitedBLACK CANARY, MY GIRL!

I’ve actually been following the issues, and it’s frickin’ amazing. My top reasons why you should read Black Canary are: it’s about a former crime-fighter who becomes lead singer of a band (music goodness!); there are awesome fight scenes (the paneling in this comic is insaneeeeee); the art and colors are so gorgeous (I love it so much); and there’s so much wonderful band-family goodness.

Read more »