Archive for November, 2013

 

November 30, 2013 • Cee • Monthly Recap

Well, this has been a fairly chill month in terms of book events (since there was none). However, the first half of the month was stressful because of NaNoWriMo. I was intent on writing and that forced a major reading slump, but the second half was better!

inmylife

FAMILY

My relatives came to visit a few weeks ago. My aunt and uncle from England came as well as my aunt and uncle from LA. My mom was really excited about having her brother (from England) over. (They’re each other’s favorites.) I was a bit anxious because I am super awkward around them, but it turned out to be fine? I only hung out with them on a Saturday. We went to Pier 39 in SF and walked around. Once I got over the awkwardness, they were all adorable to be around.

NANOWRIMO

I beat it! I got to 50k! *dances in a circle around my room* (There will be a detailed post tomorrow about it.)

 BOOKS

Like I said earlier, I hadn’t been reading as much in the beginning of the month because NaNoWriMo got in the way. I wasn’t able to juggle the two at first, but I eventually did. The bad thing was that the books I picked turned out to be books I ended up disliking. :( I was angry at the characters because they were annoying as fuck and annoying. BUT I was pulled out of it!

I read All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill because everybody told me to do it AND GUYS, IT WAS THE BEST. (I even had a twitter conversation with Cristin. :D It totally made my day.) It really pulled me out of the whole “grrrr” phase I seemed to have got into. Then I read The Archived and wow. I liked it. A lot. I don’t know how to describe how I feel about that book or AOY. I’m just struck in awe.

On Twitter, I got awesome book suggestions from Nikki (of There Were Books Involved), who is super awesome and knows how to describe books in a way that totally convinces me to want to read it. Because of her, I will be reading:

  • Angelfall and World After by Susan Ee
    • She said “it was absolutely necessary for YA readers, a more sci-fi lean, very few angel-cliches, post-apocalyptic alien invasion than sparkly angel book.”
  • Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson
    • There are supervillains! AND Nikki described it as “Badass nerd uses brains to find, impress, and join elite supervillain hunters — his last hope for revenge.”
  • The Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson
    • “Epic fantasy meets Ocean’s 11 + a kickass YA MC, it does the Firefly-esque thieving-crew-meets-family dynamic PERFECTLY. Perfect OTP, epic heists, high stakes, REAL characters.”

Doesn’t those description sound so awesome? IT ALL SPEAKS TO ME. Nikki, let’s hope I love them because if I do, I owe you all the hugs and cookies in the world!

ontheblog

I had a bit of anxiety because I didn’t post as much this month, but I remembered I didn’t really participate in memes, so that made me feel better. Original content, ya’ll! A few things to note –

  • I changed my blog header to reflect my love for narwhals! (I’m sure that by now, it’s no longer my blog’s name with a little cloud on each side.) Isn’t it just beautiful? NARWHALLLLSSSSSS. <3
    • I also changed the background. It’s not white anymore. It’s a very subtle cream-ish paper color. (Also, fun tidbit: Nikki (of The Paper Sea) and I are blog background twins! :DDD) Tell me what you think!
  • I tweaked my “about me” page a bit to be more playful and “me” (if that makes any sense). The previous one felt stilted to me.
  • IMPORTANT NOTE: Since my “Annoying Meme Comments” discussion post, I have banned the usage of the word “great” on my blog. The reasons are pretty obvious if you read the post. Use a different adjective when you want to describe something as “great.”

REVIEWS


DISCUSSIONS | CANDID CONVERSATIONS WITH CEE
Annoying Meme Comments
Reading the Ending First

LETTERS TO
Rachel Hawkins (because it was her birthday!)
You! (Because of Thanksgiving!)

JUDGING A BOOK BY ITS COVER | COVER CHANGES

 

WAITING ON WEDNESDAY

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

How was your November? Was it frickin’ amazing? (I hope so!)





November 29, 2013 • Cee • Reviews

katcarlton-twoliesandaspyTwo Lies and A Spy by Kat Carlton
September 3, 2013
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

Kari plunges into the world of espionage on a mission to save her parents while trying to impress the guy she’s been in love with forever.

When sixteen-year-old Kari’s dad sends her an unexpected text, she and her brother immediately go into hiding. Because when your parents are superspies and your dad declares a Code Black, it can only mean something bad. Very bad.

Kari soon discovers that her parents have been disavowed and declared traitors, and she’s determined to clear their names. Breaking into the Agency seems like a reasonable plan, especially with the help of a team that includes her longtime crush, Luke, as well as her two best friends—an expert hacker with attitude and a master martial artist—and Luke’s popular, vindictive twin sister. Oh, and a new guy, who’s as cute as he is complicated…

myreview

First sentence: “Can u pick up milk on ur way home?”

I love spy books, so I thought I’d love Two Lies and a Spy, right? Well, yeah, no. I did not like the book. Not at all. :\ I thought I could suspend my disbelief (which is absolutely necessary to get through this book), but apparently I could not? This book is meant to be light and fun! Sure it is…to a point. For the majority of this book, I found myself cringing and half-tempted to crumble the book up like a paper ball. I wondered if I had gone jaded when it comes to light, fun books? (I think I have.)

Read more »

Tags:




November 28, 2013 • Cee • Letters

I AM THANKFUL FOR ALL OF YOU.

 

(Yes, you. *HUGS ALL OF YOU* For creating a wonderful community. For leaving thoughtful comments. You’ve all been extra sweet to me, and I don’t deserve any of you. <3)

 

To fellow Americans, I hope you are stuffing your faces with delicious food. And to my friends overseas, I hope you are having an extra fabulous day.

Tags:




November 27, 2013 • Cee • Waiting on Wednesday

wowfestivo

Waiting On is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

SJ-UninvitedUninvited (Uninvited #1) by Sophie Jordan
January 28, 2014
HarperTeen
Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Pre-order: Amazon | Barnes & Noble |  The Book Depository

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

Why I’m waiting?

As soon as I read Minority Report, I put this book on my 2014 TBR list. That movie was awesome, so I automatically love the idea of this book. Being able to tell if you have HTS (or are a psychopath or sociopath) because of genetics certainly begs the question if it is actually an indicator that people with this gene will commit murder AND if it influences the way people behave. It’s a really tricky, debatable subject matter. I’m excited to see how it is address in the book!

And that cover, guys! I’m not a fan of models on my covers, but I love the way the strands of her hair makes the DNA helix. That’s frickin’ awesome!

What books are you waiting for?





November 26, 2013 • Cee • Holy Mother Cover

judgingabookbyitscoverSTpng

Inspired by Pure Imagination Blog and Stacked.

Let’s be honest, nobody follows the age-old cliché that tells us not to judge a book by its covers. If you say you do, I am side-eying you. Book covers are the first thing that attracts any of us readers to a book. Before you pick up a book, the cover can essentially make or break a book. If I don’t like a cover design, I won’t pick it up. Lucky for us, publishing companies publish different cover designs, especially when a paperback book comes out. Sometimes we like it, sometimes we don’t. Whatever the changes with cover designs, I will discuss it.

Today, we look at the cover of Perfect Escape by Jennifer Brown.

Okay, so, you know how I don’t like it when book cover shows a person face? Yeeeahhh, not of fan of both covers. When I first saw the cover for the hardcover version, I made a face because I am shallow and that guy’s face is not cute at all! Despite that, I do prefer the hardcover design over the paperback because it shows that these two kids are in a car, basically running away (exactly like what happens in the book). It emphasizes that this book is about two people.

(This is a nitpicky thing about the hardcover design. Do you see how the two models are situated in the car? Is it just me or is the guy sitting in the back seat? I do believe Grayson sits in the front seat next to Kendra in the book. So why is he sitting in the back?)

I really do not like the paperback design. It doesn’t show that this book is about a pair of teen siblings taking a car and running away. Also, why is her shirt heart shapes? EWWWW. But I do like the font and the light purple color! It fills up the cover better.

What do you think about the cover change? Which do you prefer?





November 25, 2013 • Cee • Reviews

lemonysnicket-tcidThe Composer Is Dead by Lemony Snicket
March 3, 2009
HarperCollins
Website | Facebook | Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

There’s dreadful news from the symphony hall—the composer is dead!

If you have ever heard an orchestra play, then you know that musicians are most certainly guilty of something. Where exactly were the violins on the night in question? Did anyone see the harp? Is the trumpet protesting a bit too boisterously?

In this perplexing murder mystery, everyone seems to have a motive, everyone has an alibi, and nearly everyone is a musical instrument. But the composer is still dead.

Perhaps you can solve the crime yourself. Join the Inspector as he interrogates all the unusual suspects. Then listen to the accompanying audio recording featuring Lemony Snicket and the music of Nathaniel Stookey performed by the San Francisco Symphony. Hear for yourself exactly what took place on that fateful, well-orchestrated evening.

myreview

First sentence: “The composer is dead.”

Lemony Snicket continues to win my hearts! The Composer Is Dead is so delightful! It has the same Lemony Snicket wit I’m used to – funny and macabre-esque.

Read more »