Archive for March, 2014

 

March 11, 2014 • Cee • Typography

I love fonts. You can say I’m obsessed with collecting them all. It’s no secret to those who know me. You’re Just My Type is a new feature where I showcase the fonts I absolutely adore and use. And hopefully, you will love the fonts I pick. 

YES. MORE GLORIOUS FONTS FOR YOU! I missed making these font posts even though it’s only been two weeks since my last one. I AM ATTACHED!

There are four main fonts I’m showcasing and two bonus ones! (Yay for bonuses!)

borderscribble

Designed by Alex Tomlinson of Skyhaven Fonts

Bright and Beautiful, baby! Alliterations ftw!

Do you remember cutting out letters from construction paper and gluing it onto a paper when you were little? Bright and Beautiful reminds me of that. Those letter cut-outs. Also, you know what’s a beauty of this font? The ampersand is that awesome “AND.” Ahhhhh. I got this font purely for that.

(A big thank you goes to Nuzaifa for introducing me to this beautiful font!)

Read more »





March 10, 2014 • Cee • Holy Mother Cover

judgingabookbyitscoverSTpng

Inspired by Pure Imagination Blog and Stacked.

Let’s be honest, nobody follows the age-old cliché that tells us not to judge a book by its covers. If you say you do, I am side-eying you. Book covers are the first thing that attracts any of us readers to a book. Before you pick up a book, the cover can essentially make or break a book. If I don’t like a cover design, I won’t pick it up. Lucky for us, publishing companies publish different cover designs, especially when a paperback book comes out. Sometimes we like it, sometimes we don’t. Let’s discuss these cover changes, shall we?

Today, we look at the cover of Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen!

Read more »





March 8, 2014 • Cee • Reviews

Claire Legrand - The Cavendish Home for Boys and GirlsThe Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls by Claire Legrand
August 28, 2012
Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers
Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble |  The Book Depository

At the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, you will definitely learn your lesson. A dark, timeless, and heartfelt novel for fans of Coraline and The Mysterious Benedict Society.

Victoria hates nonsense. There is no need for it when your life is perfect. The only smudge on her pristine life is her best friend Lawrence. He is a disaster—lazy and dreamy, shirt always untucked, obsessed with his silly piano. Victoria often wonders why she ever bothered being his friend. (Lawrence does too.)

But then Lawrence goes missing. And he’s not the only one. Victoria soon discovers that The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is not what it appears to be. Kids go in but come out…different. Or they don’t come out at all.

If anyone can sort this out, it’s Victoria—even if it means getting a little messy.

borderscribble

myreview

First sentence: “When Victoria Wright was twelve years old, she had precisely one friend. “

Ummm, what did I just read?

The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is the most weirdest and creepy YA/MG story I have ever read. Every time I try to think about how I feel about it, a big “whattttttt??” continues to hang over my head. I think I liked it because of the creepy and weird story that totally caught me by surprise? However, at the same time, maybe I didn’t like it? Maybe? See, I can’t even properly convey my feelings because I’m still completely baffled by it. I deem that a good thing.

I really enjoy how bizarre and disturbing this book is. Everything that happened isn’t very straight-forward or normal. The mystery of Lawrence’s disappearance and of Mrs. Cavendish and the home she runs isn’t what I expected; it’s far more jaw-dropping than I had initially thought. The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is a reform school that uses very questionable tactics to fix problems in a kid. (For instance, if the parents doesn’t like that their kid is not very good-looking or isn’t focused on their studies, they’ll send them to Mrs. Cavendish). I love that everybody in Belleville (all the parents and Mrs. Cavendish) played a part in what has been going on with the disappearing children; nobody is totally blameless. I would hate to be shipped off to that reform home because it’s a completely fucked up place — from the punishments for disobeying really strict and weird rules to the things that occur or the creatures that live in the house. It absolutely makes me screamish. I just—no thanks.

The disappearance of children have been occurring for years. And it’s not until Victoria Wright enters the picture that we finally get to see what exactly has been going on. Victoria notices that her only friend, Lawrence Prewitt, has disappeared and also notices that all the adults are acting really strangely. I don’t particularly like Victoria because she’s, how I should say, a brat and grated on my nerves. She’s a perfectionist, smart, and incredibly stuck up. She views other kids as being “beneath” her. Her only friend Lawrence started off as a project for her to fix up since he was an outcast who had gray hairs already growing from his head. I had a big problem with how she approached situations, which inspired me to write this rather mean letter to her. (I know I’m hard on a twelve year old. :P) She’s totally someone I would not even interact with because of her attitude and because how different she is to me when I was her age. Despite my dislike for her, I like seeing how flawed she is, how confident she is, and how she dealt with emotions that were totally foreign to her (ie. caring for people she wouldn’t have given another thought to) through this ordeal. She’s a different type of heroine that knows what she wants. I can’t really fault her for that.

I consider The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls a kind of frightening, yet kind of refreshing book in a “oh shit, what the fuck is happening. Gahhh, it’s so messed up and I am shivering because creepiness!” way. It actually left me dazed, trying to figure out what I just read. And I say to that, bravo!  gradeB+





March 6, 2014 • Cee • Letters

Dear Victoria,

Mannnnn. You really grate on my nerves, do you know that? Your “holier-than-thou” attitude frustrates me, but you know what frustrates me even more? When you just blurt out things that will most likely get you in trouble like your nonstop questions.

Read more »





March 5, 2014 • Cee • Waiting on Wednesday

wowfestivo

Waiting On is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

ava dellaira - love letters to the deadLove Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira
April 1, 2014
Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Pre-order: Amazon | Barnes & Noble |  The Book Depository

It begins as an assignment for English class: Write a letter to a dead person.

Laurel chooses Kurt Cobain because her sister, May, loved him. And he died young, just like May did. Soon, Laurel has a notebook full of letters to people like Janis Joplin, Amy Winehouse, Amelia Earhart, Heath Ledger, and more; though she never gives a single one of them to her teacher. She writes about starting high school, navigating new friendships, falling in love for the first time, learning to live with her splintering family. And, finally, about the abuse she suffered while May was supposed to be looking out for her. Only then, once Laurel has written down the truth about what happened to herself, can she truly begin to accept what happened to May. And only when Laurel has begun to see her sister as the person she was; lovely and amazing and deeply flawed; can she begin to discover her own path.

Why I’m waiting?

1. This book has a gorgeous cover! I’m so in love it. The colors are sooo pretty! I love how the colors shift from dark to light to show off the different times of evening. It just works really well together. I could stare it all day. You know what, I want it as a poster.

2. Letters! I’m excited to see how Laurel deals with her grief by writing to dead famous people. Writing letters can be therapeutic. I really hope I get all the ~feels when I read this.

What books are you waiting for?





March 4, 2014 • Cee • Lists

tttfestivoTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where we list our top tens! This week’s topic is “top ten authors I’ve never read.” I realized there are A LOT of authors I have not read, which boggles my mind. I thought I had, but nope. Why I haven’t read these authors are a mixture of these reasons: their books get extremely overhyped and I fear I’ll be disappointed, their books don’t appeal to me, some asshole spoiled the ending for me, other books distract me, and sometimes the author has done or said some problematic stuff that really turn me off to them.

I know I’ll eventually read their books. It’s just a matter of time. ;D 

Have you read any of these authors? What book do you recommend I read from these lists of authors?