Archive for May, 2016

 

May 21, 2016 • Cee • Lists

Trixie Watson has two very important goals for senior year: to finally save enough to buy the set of Doctor Who figurines at the local comic books store, and to place third in her class and knock Ben West—and his horrendous new mustache that he spent all summer growing—down to number four.

Trixie will do anything to get her name ranked over Ben’s, including give up sleep and comic books—well, maybe not comic books—but definitely sleep. After all, the war of Watson v. West is as vicious as the Doctor v. Daleks and Browncoats v. Alliance combined, and it goes all the way back to the infamous monkey bars incident in the first grade. Over a decade later, it’s time to declare a champion once and for all.

The war is Trixie’s for the winning, until her best friend starts dating Ben’s best friend and the two are unceremoniously dumped together and told to play nice. Finding common ground is odious and tooth-pullingly-painful, but Trixie and Ben’s cautious truce slowly transforms into a fandom-based tentative friendship. When Trixie’s best friend gets expelled for cheating and Trixie cries foul play, however, they have to choose who to believe and which side they’re on—and they might not pick the same side.

Goodreads · Amazon · Barnes & Noble · The Book Depository · Indigo · Indiebound · Library

Welcome to a special Essential Reading post! As part of the St. Martin’s Griffin’s The Only Thing Worse Than Me Is You blog tour, I wanted Lily to pick books that would be a must read for her characters! And voila!

For those who do not know what Essential Reading is, it is a feature on my blog where I ask authors to share five to seven books (children’s, YA, general fiction, romances, nonfiction, and all) that they or their characters love, or has impacted their lives or their characters’s lives.

Let’s see what Lily picked, shall we?

Read more »





May 20, 2016 • Cee • Reviews

Some King of Happiness

Some Kind of Happiness by Claire Legrand • May 17, 2016 • Simon & Schuster BYR • ARC gifted from Alexa <3
WebsiteTwitter | Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository | Indigo | Library

THINGS FINLEY HART DOESN’T WANT TO TALK ABOUT

  • Her parents, who are having problems. (But they pretend like they’re not.)
  • Being sent to her grandparents’ house for the summer.
  • Never having met said grandparents.
  • Her blue days—when life feels overwhelming, and it’s hard to keep her head up. (This happens a lot.)

Finley’s only retreat is the Everwood, a forest kingdom that exists in the pages of her notebook. Until she discovers the endless woods behind her grandparents’ house and realizes the Everwood is real–and holds more mysteries than she’d ever imagined, including a family of pirates that she isn’t allowed to talk to, trees covered in ash, and a strange old wizard living in a house made of bones.

With the help of her cousins, Finley sets out on a mission to save the dying Everwood and uncover its secrets. But as the mysteries pile up and the frightening sadness inside her grows, Finley realizes that if she wants to save the Everwood, she’ll first have to save herself.

myreview

First sentence: “Once there was a great, sprawling forest called the Everwood.”

Finley Hart’s summer is not what she expects it to be.

  • Instead of spending it with her parents, she’s sent to her grandparents’ house, a place she had never been and is full of relatives she had never met before.
  • She finds that her forest kingdom called Everwood lives right behind her grandparent’s house.
  • Her cousins join Finley on her adventures in the forest.
  • She has blue days, and has to try to keep them locked away from herself and her relatives.
  • She finds mysteries and secrets that she wants to uncover.

That is just a taste of what you can expect from Some Kind of Happiness. Everything that Claire Legrand has written will transport you to this magical world that weaves in the real life with Finley’s fantasical stories. You won’t be able to tear your eyes away from it.

Read more »





May 18, 2016 • Cee • Blog News

TNHbirthdaybanner

What is this glorious day? May 18th!

Why? Because it’s my birthday! *pops the confetti and dances around*

I pondered about what I should write for this beautiful day. Unlike previous years, I had nothing I wanted to unveil on The Novel Hermit. No new blog design or the like. I didn’t want to get sentimental here because birthdays are just any regular day. All ideas I had for this post were either somewhat depressing to talk about on this joyous day or required work I hadn’t prepared for, so I shrugged off the pressure of the post and decided to not do anything since it’s my day. (I’ll be prepared next year.)

All I wish for today is that everybody in the world (including me) have a fantastic May 18th. I’m eternally grateful for having all you wonderful people in my life. Make the most of your May 18th for me! I demand you treat yo self!

I hope you all have a fabulous May 18th!
Tags:




May 14, 2016 • Cee • Comics

You know what they say about college friendships, “the friends you make in college will last you a lifetime.” Nothing bonds people more than being constantly at “war,” and “war” in Giant Days is having to help a friend who is prone to attracting drama and disasters.

Written by webcomic creator John Allison and illustrated by Disney artist Lissa Treiman, Giant Days follows three British university students—Susan Ptolemy, Esther de Groot, and Daisy Wooton—who get into some wacky school adventures such as being prone to drama, flu delirium, complicated love lives, lad culture, and so much more that’s depicted with clever and funny dialogue and gorgeous art.

Read more »





May 12, 2016 • Cee • Reviews

Girl Against the Universe1

Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes • May 17, 2016 • Harper Teen
WebsiteTwitter | Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository | Indigo | Library

From the author of The Art of Lainey and Liars, Inc. comes a fresh, contemporary story about one girl’s tragic past and a boy who convinces her that maybe her luck is about to change. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen or Jenny Han.

Maguire knows she’s bad luck. No matter how many charms she buys off the internet or good luck rituals she performs each morning, horrible things happen when Maguire is around. Like that time her brother, father, and uncle were all killed in a car crash—and Maguire walked away with barely a scratch. But then on her way out of her therapist’s office, she meets Jordy, an aspiring tennis star, who wants to help Maguire break her unlucky streak. Maguire knows that the best thing she can do for Jordy is to stay away, but staying away may be harder than she thought.

myreview

I received this book for free from HarperCollins for review consideration. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

First sentence: “There’s a thing that sometimes happen in your brain when you’re the only survivor of a horrific accident.”

Maguire Kelly has been plagued with bad luck. It’s hard for her to believe that all the bad things that happen around her are mere coincidences when it’s all stacked up against each other.

  • At 11 years old, her father, brother, and uncle were killed in a car crash, but Maguire came out unscathed.
  • At 12 years old, a rollercoaster she was on veered off track, and everybody except Maguire had serious injuries.
  • At 16 years old (before moving to Pacific Point), she accidentally left a candle burning, and the neighbors house was engulfed in flames.

Wouldn’t you start to think that you’re nothing but bad luck?

Read more »





May 11, 2016 • Cee • Letters

Dear Katrina Leno and The Lost & Found,

You have me at found families!

LOST:
Frannie and Louis met in an online support group when they were both younger. They have never met face-to-face. They don’t even know each other’s real names. All they know is that they both have a mysterious tendency to lose things. Well, not lose them, exactly. Things just seem to…disappear.

FOUND: They each receive news in the mail that sets them off on a road trip to Austin, Texas, looking for answers—and each other. Along the way, each one begins to find, as if by magic, important things the other has lost. And by the time they finally meet in person, they realize that the things you lose might be things you weren’t meant to have at all, and that you never know what you might find if you just take a chance.

The Lost & Found is a bighearted novel about connections (missed and found), family (the kind you’re born with and the kind you make for yourself), and unexpected journeys (on the road, and of the heart).Goodreads

Read more »