November 27, 2013 • Cee • Waiting on Wednesday

wowfestivo

Waiting On is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

SJ-UninvitedUninvited (Uninvited #1) by Sophie Jordan
January 28, 2014
HarperTeen
Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Pre-order: Amazon | Barnes & Noble |  The Book Depository

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

Why I’m waiting?

As soon as I read Minority Report, I put this book on my 2014 TBR list. That movie was awesome, so I automatically love the idea of this book. Being able to tell if you have HTS (or are a psychopath or sociopath) because of genetics certainly begs the question if it is actually an indicator that people with this gene will commit murder AND if it influences the way people behave. It’s a really tricky, debatable subject matter. I’m excited to see how it is address in the book!

And that cover, guys! I’m not a fan of models on my covers, but I love the way the strands of her hair makes the DNA helix. That’s frickin’ awesome!

What books are you waiting for?


 

4 Responses to “WAITING ON WEDNESDAY | Uninvited by Sophie Jordan”

  1. I hadn’t even noticed the DNA helix until you pointed it out! I’d completely skipped over this one because of its cover, but it does actually sound really cool. It speaks to my inner psychologist, haha! We used to speculate in our classes, and professionals also speculate in their academic journal articles, how much violent acts, for example, are caused by genetics and how much by modelling others’ behaviour. I’m interested to see how Jordan addresses this question and how she handles a society where everyone is aware of their predisposition to violence.

  2. Arial says:

    I really hope this book turns out to be as spectacular as it seems. The idea of our genetics telling our future is really interesting and definitely something I want to read.

    I have to say the creepy model on the cover doesn’t appeal to me, but I do like how the hair turns into the DNA helix.

  3. Stacie says:

    Great choice Cee! Bahahaha jk!!! Don’t kill me lol. No really though this book looks very intriguing. I didn’t read the synopsis of the book because quite frankly the cover looks boring. However, since you put it on your blog and everything You put on your blog is interesting, I had to read the synopsis. Holy Moses this book seems very deep. I’m interested to see how she addresses the issue of a natural born killer. I always wondered if it was genetics or if it’s how we are brought up.

  4. Julia says:

    I’ve seen some really good reviews of this book, and I thought it might just another Dystopian let down, but so many people like it. I’ll seriously have to consider bumping this up the list!


Leave a Reply