Archive for December, 2021

 

December 31, 2021 • Cee • Holy Mother Cover

You know what’s even better than a book with a good story? When that book has an awesome cover!

Welcome to this color-coordinated YA book covers! Full of books that came out in 2021 with gorgeous covers! These are the covers that made me stop in my tracks and go “huh, let me stare at this gorgeous piece of work for a while.” These absolutely mesmerized me, and I wonder if they do to you too.

Read more »





December 30, 2021 • Cee • Discussion

You ever want to know what people are buying in bookstores? Well, it so happens that I work at one, and I wanted to write about what books customers have been asking for during the holiday season.

All bookstores are different, so the books customers are asking will be different . This holiday season was super crazy. Lots of people coming out, packing my bookstore which is good (but also bad because Omicron!!!!!!). These are just the books the customers in my area asked for during the past week leading up to the Holidays in 2021.

This list isn’t a conclusive list; the books here are the ones that I’ve remembered because I’ve been asked about it a bazillion times or I’ve seen customers holding it.

The Stranger in the Lifeboat by Mitch Albom | The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois by Honoree Fanonne JeffersHomebody by Rupi Kaur | Under the Whispering Door by TJ Klune | The Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows by John Koenig Read more »





December 19, 2021 • Cee • Discussion

Can you believe it?

Because I cannot.

Read more »





December 6, 2021 • Cee • Discussion

We’re selling a lot of the same books now, and I can’t wait to see new titles.

During the last week of February 2018, I pondered about what type of post to make for “Books in Hand.” At first, I planned to discuss all the books customers came in asking for or buying, but that’s a bit too much because everybody came in asking for different books, and I didn’t remember all of them. My boss showed me a way to check our store’s best selling books, and I found out what we sold a lot of!

And that’s what this post is—seeing the top selling books of November 2021!

FICTION

Read more »





December 3, 2021 • Cee • Comics

When I do buy books, I end up buying graphic novels, and that’s no different for me during the past month. It’s graphic novels or bust, baby!!!

These four graphic novels are either about queer supernatural beings or my favorite Marvel children. I can ask you to guess which titles I bought, but let’s just take a look at those gorgeous covers instead!

Squad by Maggie Tokuda-Hall & Lisa Sterle

Pretty Little Liars meets Teen Wolf in this fast-paced, sharply funny, and patriarchy-smashing graphic novel from author Maggie Tokuda-Hall and artist Lisa Sterle. When the new girl is invited to join her high school’s most popular clique, she can’t believe her luck—and she can’t believe their secret, either: they’re werewolves. Fans of Mariko Tamaki and Elana K. Arnold will devour the snappy dialogue, vivid artwork, and timely social commentary.

When Becca transfers to a high school in an elite San Francisco suburb, she’s worried she’s not going to fit in. To her surprise, she’s immediately adopted by the most popular girls in school. At first glance, Marley, Arianna, and Mandy are perfect. But at a party under a full moon, Becca learns that they also have a big secret.

Becca’s new friends are werewolves. Their prey? Slimy boys who take advantage of unsuspecting girls. Eager to be accepted, Becca allows her friends to turn her into a werewolf, and finally, for the first time in her life, she feels like she truly belongs.

But things get complicated when Arianna’s predatory boyfriend is killed, and the cops begin searching for a serial killer. As their pack begins to buckle under the pressure—and their moral high ground gets muddier and muddier—Becca realizes that she might have feelings for one of her new best friends.

Why did I buy Squad? Two names: Maggie Tokuda-Hall & Lisa Sterle. Two absolutely wonderful and creative women who’s work I have enjoyed immensely. Them joining forces to create a graphic novel about queer werewolves? Sign me up!!

Read more »