Archive for the ‘Comics’ Category

 

January 17, 2022 • Cee • Comics
Crushing by Sophie Burrows • January 11, 2022 • Algonquin Young Readers

Twitter | Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository | Indiebound | Indigo | Library

She’s lonely and searching for connection. He’s lonely and afraid to reach out. Life in the big city means being surrounded by connections—making them, missing them, and longing for them. But is finding someone else really the answer to their problems? Crushing, the stunning debut graphic novel from Sophie Burrows, is a story told in silence; a story without words but bursting with meaning; a story about loneliness and love. Achingly beautiful, quietly defiant, and full of subtle wit and wisdom, Crushing is a unique meditation on the human condition in the twenty-first century, and a timely examination of young adult life in an age of isolation.

myreview

I received this graphic novel for free from Algonquin Young Readers for review consideration. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

If I had to describe Crushing in a sentence, I would say—it’s beautiful, but too goddamn real with its portrayal of loneliness.

Read more »





December 3, 2021 • Cee • Comics

When I do buy books, I end up buying graphic novels, and that’s no different for me during the past month. It’s graphic novels or bust, baby!!!

These four graphic novels are either about queer supernatural beings or my favorite Marvel children. I can ask you to guess which titles I bought, but let’s just take a look at those gorgeous covers instead!

Squad by Maggie Tokuda-Hall & Lisa Sterle

Pretty Little Liars meets Teen Wolf in this fast-paced, sharply funny, and patriarchy-smashing graphic novel from author Maggie Tokuda-Hall and artist Lisa Sterle. When the new girl is invited to join her high school’s most popular clique, she can’t believe her luck—and she can’t believe their secret, either: they’re werewolves. Fans of Mariko Tamaki and Elana K. Arnold will devour the snappy dialogue, vivid artwork, and timely social commentary.

When Becca transfers to a high school in an elite San Francisco suburb, she’s worried she’s not going to fit in. To her surprise, she’s immediately adopted by the most popular girls in school. At first glance, Marley, Arianna, and Mandy are perfect. But at a party under a full moon, Becca learns that they also have a big secret.

Becca’s new friends are werewolves. Their prey? Slimy boys who take advantage of unsuspecting girls. Eager to be accepted, Becca allows her friends to turn her into a werewolf, and finally, for the first time in her life, she feels like she truly belongs.

But things get complicated when Arianna’s predatory boyfriend is killed, and the cops begin searching for a serial killer. As their pack begins to buckle under the pressure—and their moral high ground gets muddier and muddier—Becca realizes that she might have feelings for one of her new best friends.

Why did I buy Squad? Two names: Maggie Tokuda-Hall & Lisa Sterle. Two absolutely wonderful and creative women who’s work I have enjoyed immensely. Them joining forces to create a graphic novel about queer werewolves? Sign me up!!

Read more »





October 23, 2020 • Cee • Comics

from panel to panel

I love comics and graphic novels, so what do I do with that love? Well, I turn it into a new feature!

From Panel to Panel is a new feature where I talk about the awesome (and perhaps not-so awesome) comic books and graphic novels I’ve read. Basically, this will be me pushing them onto your laps. You’re welcome.

Hi, remember this? It’s actually been a year since the last time I’ve posted about graphic novels I’m excited about that were coming out. I didn’t mean to stop doing these—2020 just hasn’t been kind.

But I’m ready to talk about all the graphic novels I’m so pumped for, which includes the amazing Trung Le Nguyen (aka Trungles)’s GN, witches and seances, and much more. When you read the synopsis, you’ll understand why these graphic novels are most wanted.

Let’s check out what graphic novels were released this fall for kids and teens!

Read more »





August 30, 2020 • Cee • Comics
All-America Comix (One-shot) by Joe Casey and Dustin Nguyen • July 1, 2020 • Image Comics

Website | Goodreads | Midtown Comics | Comixology | LCBS

Her last name is VASQUEZ! Her first name…says it all! And when confronted with the hidden secret of the universe, you won’t believe the cosmic truth she uncovers! Brought to you by the Wildcats Version 3.0 team of JOE CASEY and DUSTIN NGUYEN—reunited for the first time in fifteen years!

myreview

Is that America Chavez—? Oh no, it’s actually America Vasquez—an alternate America Chavez, but…not? She’s familiar with the same attitude, the super strength, and the ability to fly and travel through dimensions. All-America Comix has similar characters you’d find in Marvel works—both in personality and visuals—but with very, very small differences. Almost like bootleg versions. It doesn’t read as a ~poke fun at these characters type of story, instead it’s like a ~what could’ve been~ that takes readers absolutely nowhere.

Read more »

Tags:




April 8, 2020 • Cee • Comics
Dragon Hoops by Gene Luen Yang • March 17, 2019 • First Second

Twitter | Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository | Indiebound | Indigo | Library

Gene understands stories—comic book stories, in particular. Big action. Bigger thrills. And the hero always wins. But Gene doesn’t get sports. As a kid, his friends called him “Stick” and every basketball game he played ended in pain. He lost interest in basketball long ago, but at the high school where he now teaches, it’s all anyone can talk about. The men’s varsity team, the Dragons, is having a phenomenal season that’s been decades in the making. Each victory brings them closer to their ultimate goal: the California State Championships. Once Gene gets to know these young all-stars, he realizes that their story is just as thrilling as anything he’s seen on a comic book page. He knows he has to follow this epic to its end. What he doesn’t know yet is that this season is not only going to change the Dragons’s lives, but his own life as well.

myreview

I received this graphic novel for free from First Second for review consideration. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

First sentence: “I’ve hated sports ever since I was a little kid. Especially basketball.”

For all you people who are usually uninterested in basketball (like I am), prepare to become a fan because of Dragon Hoops!

This graphic memoir captivated my attention with the very real people that Gene Luen Yang focus on, the history of basketball through different cultures, and the process Yang goes through to create an accurate portrayal of the events. It’ll convince you that you need to be in the front row for all the action at Bishop O’Dowd High School.

Read more »





March 20, 2020 • Cee • Comics
The Phantom Twin by Lisa Brown • March 3, 2019 • First Second

Website | Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository | Indiebound | Indigo | Library

Isabel and Jane are the Extraordinary Peabody Sisters, conjoined twins in a traveling carnival freak show—until an ambitious surgeon tries to separate them and fails, causing Jane’s death. Isabel has lost an arm and a leg but gained a ghostly companion: Her dead twin is now her phantom limb. Haunted, altered, and alone for the first time, can Isabel build a new life that’s truly her own?

myreview

I received this graphic novel for free from First Second for review consideration. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

First sentence: “I wake up afraid to open my eyes.”

Losing a conjoined twin puts a whole different spin on “phantom limb.” But that’s exactly what Isabel feels when she loses Jane; it’s like losing a limb—another part of herself that she feels like Jane’s still there when she isn’t.

Read more »