Archive for May, 2015

 

May 8, 2015 • Cee • Holy Mother Cover

Whoa, there, Cee, a bookish tag meme? You don’t do those! Correct, I don’t, but I cannot resist fun book cover ones!

Rosie challenged me to the “Find Me” tag, which was created by the ladies at Novel Ink. The steps are:

  1. Find books that fit each cover theme category. (You can use any books, but like Rosie, I decided to use the books I physically own because searching through my bookshelf is fun!)
  2. Tag people you want to do the tag. (Though, they don’t have to do it if they don’t want to.)
  3. Link back to Novel Ink.
  4. Have fun!

When I was searching for books, I realized that I don’t really own a lot of books with these themes, and I was surprised. You would think I’d have more than two couples kissing book cover or a heart one, but I only had one or two. The themes I had a lot of book covers: weapon, moon, water, and flowers. Go figure.

BOOK WITH [BLANK] ON THE COVER

1. “GONE” IN THE TITLE

2. A WEAPON

Read more »





May 6, 2015 • Cee • Reviews

omega cityOmega City by Diana Peterfreund
April 28, 2015
Balzer + Bray
Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble |  The Book Depository
* E-ARC courtesy of Edelweiss + HarperCollins

The first middle grade novel in an exciting new series from acclaimed author Diana Peterfreund, perfect for fans of The Goonies and The City of Ember.

Gillian Seagret doesn’t listen to people who say her father’s a crackpot. His conspiracy theories about the lost technology of Cold War–era rocket scientist Dr. Aloysius Underberg may have cost him his job and forced them to move to the middle of nowhere, but Gillian knows he’s right and plans to prove it.

When she discovers a missing page from Dr. Underberg’s diary in her father’s mess of an office, she thinks she’s found a big piece of the puzzle—a space-themed riddle promising to lead to Dr. Underberg’s greatest invention. Enlisting the help of her skeptical younger brother, Eric, her best friend, Savannah, and Howard, their NASA-obsessed schoolmate, Gillian sets off on a journey into the ruins of Omega City, a vast doomsday bunker deep inside the earth,.

But they aren’t alone inside its dark and flooded halls. For while Gillian wants to save her dad’s reputation by bringing Dr. Underberg’s secrets to light, there are others who will stop at nothing to make sure they stay buried . . . forever.

myreview

I received this book for free from Edelweiss + HarperCollins in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

First sentence: “It started with a fire.”

What do you get when you cross Cold War secrets and children trying to save their dad’s reputation? You get Omega City!

Things you’ll find in Omega City: lost Cold-War technology, a rocket scientist named Dr. Aloysius Underberg who disappears from the face of the world, a historian/ex-professor with a lost reputation, government cover-up, determined kids on a mission to save their parent’s reputation, a space-themed riddle, gun-toting bad guys, an underground city that was a doomsday bunker, and many more.

Sounds awesome, right?

Read more »





May 4, 2015 • Cee • Lists

May Fourth—aka Star Wars Day—the day we’ve all been waiting for is finally here.

We all know it’s gonna be a puntastic day!

You can tell how beloved this franchise through many different ways—discussions, books, video games, merchandises— and it’s amazing to see people keeping it alive.

With the release of Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens at the end of the year, my excitement for this epic space opera is 110% through the roof. I want to talk about everything and celebrate its awesomeness. I want to devour every piece of media I can get my greedy hands on. That’s why I wanted to talk about the Star Wars graphic novels and books I plan to read.

 

PRINCESS LEIA

When Princess Leia Organa was captured by the Empire as a Rebel spy, she never betrayed her convictions, even in the face of the complete destruction of her home world, Alderaan. When her rescue came, she grabbed a blaster and joined the fight, escaping back to the Rebel Alliance and helping strike the biggest blow against the Empire—the destruction of the Death Star. But in the aftermath of that victory, the question remains…what is a princess without a world?

Writer Mark Waid (Daredevil, S.H.I.E.L.D.) and artist Terry Dodson (Avengers & X-Men: Axis, Uncanny X-Men) bring us a story of Leia’s quest to help her people and find her place in the galaxy. — Source

That’s right. Princesss Leia has her very own comic series! Eeep.

Who wouldn’t want to see badass Leia in action? She’s not a damsel in distress. She can kick ass, and hopefully, this comic series shows Leia doing so.

Read more »

Tags:




May 2, 2015 • Cee • Discussion

(source)

May is here, and I’m overcome with the fear of the unknown and a nostalgia for my childhood.

This feeling is a year-round thing; it isn’t May-specific, as if it decided to camp out inside me because the weather has been lovely in my part of the world. However, I feel the full brunt around this time of the year.

I blame it on my birthday (and partly on “It’s Gonna Be May” meme for making me nostalgic).

Read more »