Tags Archive

 

February 19, 2014 • Cee • Waiting on Wednesday

wowfestivo

Waiting On is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Rachel Hawkins - Rebel BelleRebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins
April 4, 2014
Putnam Juvenile
Blog | Twitter | Goodreads
Pre-order: Amazon | Barnes & Noble |  The Book Depository

Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper’s destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.

Just when life can’t get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she’s charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper’s least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him–and discovers that David’s own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.

With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y’all beg for more.

Why I’m waiting?

Ahhh, Rachel Hawkins is a favorite author of mine. I credit her for pulling me back into YA. So obviously I will be super pumped for any book she writes!

Plus, I’m excited to read about this world. An ancient line of guardians? That sounds so cool! I need to learn more about that! I am so prepared for the banter between Harper and David (if it’s anything like the bantering in Hex Hall). Also, I I love that David’s a school reporter. There will surely be some snooping and learning about this prophecy and whatnot.

Basically, I need Rebel Belle.

What books are you waiting on?





November 27, 2013 • Cee • Waiting on Wednesday

wowfestivo

Waiting On is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

SJ-UninvitedUninvited (Uninvited #1) by Sophie Jordan
January 28, 2014
HarperTeen
Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Pre-order: Amazon | Barnes & Noble |  The Book Depository

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

Why I’m waiting?

As soon as I read Minority Report, I put this book on my 2014 TBR list. That movie was awesome, so I automatically love the idea of this book. Being able to tell if you have HTS (or are a psychopath or sociopath) because of genetics certainly begs the question if it is actually an indicator that people with this gene will commit murder AND if it influences the way people behave. It’s a really tricky, debatable subject matter. I’m excited to see how it is address in the book!

And that cover, guys! I’m not a fan of models on my covers, but I love the way the strands of her hair makes the DNA helix. That’s frickin’ awesome!

What books are you waiting for?





November 20, 2013 • Cee • Waiting on Wednesday

wowfestivo

Waiting On is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

jennyhan - toalltheboysivelovedbeforeTo All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
April 22, 2014
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Pre-order: Amazon | Barnes & Noble |  The Book Depository

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

Why I’m waiting?

Isn’t it a girl’s worst nightmare when something they wrote or said years ago comes back and bites them in the ass? I worry about that, especially since I wrote some embarrassing stuff when I was a teenager. I love the synopsis of this book. I have never wrote any letters to my crushes. Good thing too! I would be pretty mortified if they somehow got their hands on it.

Also, Jenny Han writes totally awesome contemporary YA books. So excited to see if I like it as much as her Summer series.

What books are you waiting for?





October 16, 2013 • Cee • Waiting on Wednesday

wowfestivo

Waiting On is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Annabel Pitcher - Ketchup CloudsKetchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher
November 12, 2013
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Pre-order: Amazon | Barnes & Noble |  The Book Depository

Dear Mr. S. Harris,

Ignore the blob of red in the top left corner. It’s jam, not blood, though I don’t think I need to tell you the difference. It wasn’t your wife’s jam the police found on your shoe. . . .

Zoe has an unconventional pen pal-Mr. Stuart Harris, a Texas Death Row inmate and convicted murderer. But then again, Zoe has an unconventional story to tell. A story about how she fell for two boys, betrayed one of them, and killed the other.

Hidden away in her backyard shed in the middle of the night with a jam sandwich in one hand and a pen in the other, Zoe gives a voice to her heart and her fears after months of silence. Mr. Harris may never respond to Zoe’s letters, but at least somebody will know her story-somebody who knows what it’s like to kill a person you love. Only through her unusual confession can Zoe hope to atone for her mistakes that have torn lives apart, and work to put her own life back together again.

Rising literary star Annabel Pitcher pens a captivating second novel, rich with her distinctive balance between humor and heart. Annabel explores the themes of first love, guilt, and grief, introducing a character with a witty voice and true emotional resonance.

Why I’m waiting?

Look at that cover! It was the first thing that caught my attention. It’s so cute! I love that everything (except the girl and the bird) is essentially done by hand. This plot also interests because 1. oh my god, she killed somebody? Literally or figuratively? and 2. I could never be pen pals with a prison inmate. I already have a lot of anxiety thinking about it. To me, it takes guts to put yourself out there like that. 

What books are you waiting on this Wednesday?





October 9, 2013 • Cee • Waiting on Wednesday

wowfestivo

Waiting On is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Melissa Walker - Ashes to AshesAshes to Ashes by Melissa Walker
December 23, 2013
Katherine Tegen Books
Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Pre-order: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

If I Stay meets the movie Ghost in this first book in a teen duology about a teenage-girl-turned-ghost who must cling to the echoes of her former life to save the people she left behind.

When Callie’s life is cut short by a tragic accident, she expects to find nothingness, or maybe some version of heaven.

Instead, her spirit travels to the Prism, an ethereal plane populated by the ghosts she thought were fictional. Here she meets a striking and mysterious ghost named Thatcher, who is meant to guide her as she learns to haunt and bring peace to the loved ones she left behind.

However, Callie uncovers a dark secret about the spirit world: The angry souls who always populate ghost stories are real, dangerous, and willing to do whatever it takes to stay on Earth, threatening the existence of everyone she ever cared about.

As she fights to save them, Callie will learn that while it may no longer beat, her heart can still love-and break.

Why I’m waiting?

Dark secret about the spirit world? Although that is an extremely cliché description, color me intrigued! I’m not usually a fan of book that contains spirits or ghosts because those freak me out, but I’m interested in finding out the backstory of those spirits or souls, especially Thatcher who seems to be extremely important, and seeing what threat they pose to living beings by staying on Earth. It’s an interesting take on what it means to live (even after death).

I hope there’s a pottery making scene (Ghost reference, yeeahhh!).

What books are you waiting on?





October 2, 2013 • Cee • Waiting on Wednesday

wowfestivo

Waiting On is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

These Broken StarsThese Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
December 10, 2013
Disney Hyperion
Amie Kaufman: Website | Twitter | Facebook
Meagan Spooner: Website | Twitter | Facebook
Pre-order: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.

A timeless love story, THESE BROKEN STARS sets into motion a sweeping science fiction series of companion novels. The Starbound Trilogy: Three worlds. Three love stories. One enemy.

Why I’m waiting?

SPACE. I’ve been getting more and more interested in YA’s that takes place in space. I find it extremely fascinating. I don’t know why though. Maybe I just love to imagine people floating among the stars? Or maybe I’m reminiscing about Firefly? Whatever the reason is, space is really lovely. And this cover, so fucking gorgeous. The colors pop and is super romantic.

I like the aspect that the guy in this story is a war hero. I’m interested in finding out more about their background and the history of their world and planet.

What books are you waiting on?