Tags Archive

 

September 23, 2019 • Cee • Discussion

I like it when people discuss the books they recently purchased or got from the publisher. I like knowing what type of books people keep gravitating towards, so it’s a shame that I have yet to do that. I’ve received a few awesome books that I should be shouting from the rooftops, but why haven’t I spoken about them? The short answer: I haven’t had time to focus on my own reading; I’ve been invested in others reading. C’est la vie of a bookseller.

I’ll talk about the books I’ve gotten in the past week. (I’ll talk about previously received books in another post because I’m VERY excited about these!!)

Juliet Takes A Breath by Gabby Rivera

A gutsy, queer coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Nina LaCour, Rainbow Rowell, and Elizabeth Acevedo.

Juliet Milagros Palante is a self-proclaimed closeted Puerto Rican baby dyke from the Bronx. Only, she’s not so closeted anymore. Not after coming out to her family the night before flying to Portland, Oregon, to intern with her favorite feminist writer–what’s sure to be a life-changing experience. And when Juliet’s coming out crashes and burns, she’s not sure her mom will ever speak to her again.

But Juliet has a plan–sort of. Her internship with legendary author Harlowe Brisbane, the ultimate authority on feminism, women’s bodies, and other gay-sounding stuff, is sure to help her figure out this whole “Puerto Rican lesbian” thing. Except Harlowe’s white. And not from the Bronx. And she definitely doesn’t have all the answers . . .

In a summer bursting with queer brown dance parties, a sexy fling with a motorcycling librarian, and intense explorations of race and identity, Juliet learns what it means to come out–to the world, to her family, to herself.

Why do I want to read Juliet Takes A Breath? I had the privilege of seeing Gabby Rivera speak two times, and she has a way of talking about her work that makes you want to pick them up immediately. I love hearing about Juliet Takes A Breath, and how this young queer Puerto Rican girl tries to find her own voice and how to be a feminist and lesbian, and how she fits into different communities she encounters. I’m excited to see her experience and what she learns on the way.

If you ever have the opportunity to meet Gabby Rivera, please do. She’s larger than live, and her writing and the themes she incorporates will knock you off your feet, especially when you’re looking for experiences that focuses on a queer, brown and round girl.

Will other readers enjoy this? Yeah! You learn about different people’s experience and what they learn on the way, and in this case, it’s a newly out queer Puerto Rican girl navigating this new world of feminism and queerness and community.

Read more »