Tags Archive

 

April 29, 2016 • Cee • Reviews

Sleeping Giants

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel • April 26, 2016 • Del Rey Books (Random House)
WebsiteTwitter | Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository | Indigo | Library

A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power.

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

myreview

I received this book for free from Del Rey for review consideration. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

First sentence: “It was my eleventh birthday.”

Imagine the earth opening up below you, and you fall through and land in the palm of a giant metal hand that’s glowing turquoise with weird symbols carved on it. That’s exactly what happens to Rose Franklin when she was little. Nobody knows what this giant metal hand is or where it came from, but it’s there in the ground, and it sets off the greatest sci-fi mystery that Sleeping Giants strives to uncover.

Read more »