Tags Archive

 

May 12, 2016 • Cee • Reviews

Girl Against the Universe1

Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes • May 17, 2016 • Harper Teen
WebsiteTwitter | Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository | Indigo | Library

From the author of The Art of Lainey and Liars, Inc. comes a fresh, contemporary story about one girl’s tragic past and a boy who convinces her that maybe her luck is about to change. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen or Jenny Han.

Maguire knows she’s bad luck. No matter how many charms she buys off the internet or good luck rituals she performs each morning, horrible things happen when Maguire is around. Like that time her brother, father, and uncle were all killed in a car crash—and Maguire walked away with barely a scratch. But then on her way out of her therapist’s office, she meets Jordy, an aspiring tennis star, who wants to help Maguire break her unlucky streak. Maguire knows that the best thing she can do for Jordy is to stay away, but staying away may be harder than she thought.

myreview

I received this book for free from HarperCollins for review consideration. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

First sentence: “There’s a thing that sometimes happen in your brain when you’re the only survivor of a horrific accident.”

Maguire Kelly has been plagued with bad luck. It’s hard for her to believe that all the bad things that happen around her are mere coincidences when it’s all stacked up against each other.

  • At 11 years old, her father, brother, and uncle were killed in a car crash, but Maguire came out unscathed.
  • At 12 years old, a rollercoaster she was on veered off track, and everybody except Maguire had serious injuries.
  • At 16 years old (before moving to Pacific Point), she accidentally left a candle burning, and the neighbors house was engulfed in flames.

Wouldn’t you start to think that you’re nothing but bad luck?

Read more »





April 27, 2015 • Cee • Lists

essentialreading

Do you ever wonder about what books shaped the lives of the characters you read about? What were Kami Glass from The Lynburn Legacy, Seth from More Than This, or Taylor Markham from Jellicoe Road reading? What books did they love?

In Essential Reading, readers and authors share five to seven books (children’s, YA, general fiction, romances, nonfiction, and all) that they or their characters love, or has impacted their lives or their characters’s lives.

What do we have here? Your eyes have not deceived you. It’s another Essential Reading list!

This time, we have the awesome Paula Stokes, talking about the books Parvati Amos of Liars, Inc, loves and why. You might be a bit surprised that this essential reading list isn’t from Max, who is the main character of that book. There’s an excellent reason for that, and here is what Paula has to say:

Parvati is Max’s smart and ambitious girlfriend, and one of the three students who start the business Liars, Inc. I picked her for this post because she’s more of a reader than Max, and because the variety of books she’s drawn to do a good job of illustrating the different facets of her character.

When you read the reasons, oh boy, Parvati is very intriguing! So give Paula a warm welcome!

Read more »





December 11, 2014 • Cee • Letters

liars inc paula stokes

Dear Paula Stokes and Liars, Inc,

Liar, liar, pants are on fire.

It all starts with one little lie…

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell lies to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money and liven up a boring senior year. With the help of his friends Preston and Parvati, Max starts a business providing forged permission slips and cover stories for the students of Vista Palisades High. Liars, Inc. they call it. Suddenly everybody needs something and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn’t think twice about hooking him up. Until Preston never comes home. Then the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead the cops to Preston’s body. Terrifying clues that point to Max as the murderer.

Can Max find the real killer before he goes to prison for a crime he didn’t commit?Goodreads

Read more »