Tags Archive

 

May 6, 2015 • Cee • Reviews

omega cityOmega City by Diana Peterfreund
April 28, 2015
Balzer + Bray
Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble |  The Book Depository
* E-ARC courtesy of Edelweiss + HarperCollins

The first middle grade novel in an exciting new series from acclaimed author Diana Peterfreund, perfect for fans of The Goonies and The City of Ember.

Gillian Seagret doesn’t listen to people who say her father’s a crackpot. His conspiracy theories about the lost technology of Cold War–era rocket scientist Dr. Aloysius Underberg may have cost him his job and forced them to move to the middle of nowhere, but Gillian knows he’s right and plans to prove it.

When she discovers a missing page from Dr. Underberg’s diary in her father’s mess of an office, she thinks she’s found a big piece of the puzzle—a space-themed riddle promising to lead to Dr. Underberg’s greatest invention. Enlisting the help of her skeptical younger brother, Eric, her best friend, Savannah, and Howard, their NASA-obsessed schoolmate, Gillian sets off on a journey into the ruins of Omega City, a vast doomsday bunker deep inside the earth,.

But they aren’t alone inside its dark and flooded halls. For while Gillian wants to save her dad’s reputation by bringing Dr. Underberg’s secrets to light, there are others who will stop at nothing to make sure they stay buried . . . forever.

myreview

I received this book for free from Edelweiss + HarperCollins in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

First sentence: “It started with a fire.”

What do you get when you cross Cold War secrets and children trying to save their dad’s reputation? You get Omega City!

Things you’ll find in Omega City: lost Cold-War technology, a rocket scientist named Dr. Aloysius Underberg who disappears from the face of the world, a historian/ex-professor with a lost reputation, government cover-up, determined kids on a mission to save their parent’s reputation, a space-themed riddle, gun-toting bad guys, an underground city that was a doomsday bunker, and many more.

Sounds awesome, right?

Read more »





September 25, 2013 • Cee • Holy Mother Cover

coverrevealflags

OaO-Cover

One & Only by Viv Daniels
November 8, 2013
Website | Twitter | FacebookGoodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble

One night they can’t forget…

Tess McMann lives her life according to the secrets she’s sworn to keep: the father who won’t acknowledge her, the sister who doesn’t know she exists, and the mother who’s content playing mistress to a prominent businessman. When she meets the distractingly cute Dylan Kingsley at a prestigious summer program and falls in love, Tess allows herself to imagine a life beyond these secrets. But when summer ends, so does their relationship — Dylan heads off to Canton College while Tess enrolls at the state university.

One love they can’t ignore…

Two years later, a scholarship brings Tess to Canton and back into Dylan’s life. Their attraction is as strong as ever, but Dylan has a girlfriend…who also happens to be Tess’s legitimate half-sister. Tess refuses to follow in her mother’s footsteps, which leaves her only one choice: break the rules she’s always followed, or allow Dylan to slip away for a second time.

…And only one chance to get things right.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR.

Viv Daniels writes love stories for the young and young at heart. Like many of her characters, she met her husband in college, and knows all the ins and outs of navigating that kind of relationship — from how to date when you’re both flat broke to how to fit two people in narrow dorm room bed. Her favorite new adult authors include Tammara Weber, J. Lynn, and Cora Carmack. Viv can usually be found on her Facebook page or Twitter feed, chatting with readers about her favorite New Adult fiction, or sharing pictures of cute boys. She lives outside of Washington D.C. with her family.

MY THOUGHTS

Isn’t that cover swoon-worthy? I’m very excited to reveal this cover. I don’t usually do cover reveals, but I ADORE the author and her writing. For those who do not know, Viv Daniels is actually a name Diana Peterfreund will be publishing under for her new adult romance series. I’m pretty excited because her books are amazing. This series is similar to her Secret Society Girl series (which I highly recommend) in that it’s set in a university, but this will be romance-focused (and hopefully have lots of sexy times. ;D).

giveawayflag

Also, Viv Daniels is giving away signed copies of the Secret Society Girl series to celebrate the cover reveal of One & Only. Isn’t that awesome?

a Rafflecopter giveaway





September 4, 2013 • Cee • Waiting on Wednesday

wowfestivo

Waiting On is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Diana Peterfreund - Across a Star-Swept SeaAcross a Star-Swept Sea by Diana Peterfreund
October 15, 2013
Balzer + Bray
Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Pre-order: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

Centuries after wars nearly destroyed civilization, the two islands of New Pacifica stand alone, a terraformed paradise where even the Reduction—the devastating brain disorder that sparked the wars—is a distant memory. Yet on the isle of Galatea, an uprising against the ruling aristocrats has turned deadly. The revolutionaries’ weapon is a drug that damages their enemies’ brains, and the only hope is rescue by a mysterious spy known as the Wild Poppy.

On the neighboring island of Albion, no one suspects that the Wild Poppy is actually famously frivolous aristocrat Persis Blake. The teenager uses her shallow, socialite trappings to hide her true purpose: her gossipy flutternotes are encrypted plans, her pampered sea mink is genetically engineered for spying, and her well-publicized new romance with handsome Galatean medic Justen Helo… is her most dangerous mission ever.

Though Persis is falling for Justen, she can’t risk showing him her true self, especially once she learns he’s hiding far more than simply his disenchantment with his country’s revolution and his undeniable attraction to the silly socialite he’s pretending to love. His darkest secret could plunge both islands into a new dark age, and Persis realizes that when it comes to Justen Helo, she’s not only risking her heart, she’s risking the world she’s sworn to protect.

In this thrilling adventure inspired by The Scarlet Pimpernel, Diana Peterfreund creates an exquisitely rendered world where nothing is as it seems and two teens with very different pasts fight for a future only they dare to imagine.

Why I’m waiting?

I adore Diana Peterfreund.

You can say I’m in love with her writing. I vaguely remember what The Scarlet Pimpernel is about, but that won’t detract from what I assume will be an awesome book.  In this book, the characters are gender-flipped. I LOVE THAT. Here, we have a female as the leading main character (instead of a male like in the original book) and she’s a spy! Yeeessss. (I don’t know if you know this about me, but I am really into spies.) And they are pretending they are in love? Can this book get any better?

What books are you waiting on?





August 2, 2013 • Cee • Reviews

Diana Peterfreund - ATNSfinalwebAmong the Nameless Stars (For Darkness Shows the Stars 0.5) by Diana Peterfreund
June 4, 2012

HarperCollins Publishers
Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Harpercollins

Before Kai joined the Cloud Fleet, he wandered… AMONG THE NAMELESS STARS

Four years before the events of FOR DARKNESS SHOWS THE STARS, the servant Kai left the North Estate, the only home he’d ever known, and Elliot North, the only girl he ever loved, in search of a better life. But the journey was not an easy one.

Featuring narrow escapes, thrilling boat races and at least one deadly volcanic wasteland.

myreview

First sentence: “The first week was the hardest.”

I love this novella.

Diana Peterfreund’s description of this novella is a excellent analogy. She said

If ‘For Darkness Shows the Stars’ is Austen, then ‘Among the Nameless Stars’ is Dickens. In this story, you see the gritty underbelly of the society that Elliot only knows stories about, the one she fears and hints about, but has little experience with herself.

Among the Nameless Stars is a prequel of For Darkness Shows the Stars, and it follows Kai as he leaves the North Estate, intent on finding a better life as a Post without Elliot North, the girl he loves and can’t forget. However, when he enters the world, he encounters a lot of struggles like overcoming severe injuries and starvation, becoming a prisoner, and trying to accept Elliot’s decision not to go with him. That boy has been through a lot, especially at fourteen years old. (I found myself clutching at my heart numerous times, especially when he wrote unsent letters to Elliot.)

The only problem I had with the novella was the terms. I got confused because I couldn’t remember what Reduction and Posts meant until a couple of chapters into the book. But, as long as you have read For Darkness Shows the Stars, then it shouldn’t be confusing.

Maybe I love this novella because I adore Diana Peterfreund and her writing, or I love it because my favorite Jane Austen book is Persuasion. Maybe it’s a mixture of both. Whatever my reasons are, you can tell I am biased. You should go read it, especially if you read For Darkness Shows the Stars and want to know what happened to Kai when he left the North Estate.

gradeA-