August 9, 2016 • Cee • Reviews

Supergirl at Super Hero High by Lisa Yee • July 5, 2016 • Random House Books for Young Readers
Website | TwitterGoodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository | Indigo | Library

Get your cape on with the DC Super Hero Girls™—the unprecedented new Super Hero universe especially for girls! Readers of all ages can fly high with the all-new adventures of Wonder Woman™, Supergirl™, Batgirl™, and some of the world’s most iconic female super heroes as high schoolers!

Supergirl is the new girl in school—and she just also happens to be the most powerful teenager in the galaxy!

After losing her home planet of Krypton and everyone she knows, Supergirl has made a new home on Earth, but she’s isn’t so sure that Super Hero High School is the right place for her. Wonder Woman, other new friends, and a kindly librarian make her feel welcome, but breached inter-dimensional portals, invading alien armies, and bad dreams shake her confidence. It’s not easy being a super hero and a high school student all at once!

The wonderful folks at Random House asked me if I wanted to take part in a blog tour for Supergirl at Super Hero High, and I was absolutely thrilled because it’s Supergirl! Another awesome female superhero that everybody should get to know.

myreview

I received this book for free from Random House for review consideration. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

First sentence: “Wonder Woman!” Principal Waller bellowed.

It’s a bird, it’s a plane…it’s Supergirl first time at school!

In this sequel to the Super Hero High series, the Kents have decided that it’s time that Supergirl enroll into Super Hero High to take control of her powers and hone them. However, Supergirl is really unsure that going to Super Hero High is a good idea. The school is hard (another rival school doesn’t do exams), and she keeps making tons of mistakes that could be unavoidable if she isn’t Supergirl (aka clumsy). In Supergirl at Super Hero High, Supergirl has to deal with the mounting pressure of being a superhero, her insecurities of not being worthy enough, trying to fit in, her grief over the death of her parents and Krypton, various threatening incidents involving the Boom Tubes, and much more.

Why Everyone Should Read
Supergirl at Super Hero High

  • Supergirl is us!

Okay, we may not have superpowers like Supergirl, but that doesn’t mean she isn’t like you and I. Here’s this girl who lost her home and her parents, lives in an entirely new place where she feels like she’s hindrance, has to deal with the insecurities of not living up to expectation, yearns for her mother, try to survive high school even though it’s very hard for her, worries a lot, and so much more.

Much like in Wonder Woman at Super Hero High, readers—young and old—will be able to see themselves in Supergirl. They will have faced things Supergirl has to go through.

  • You experience everything that Supergirl feels.

The great thing about this book is that Lisa Yee really makes you feel everything Supergirl feels. You feel the grief in Supergirl when she thinks about her mother, her embarrassment when she clumsily crashes into someone, or her worry that she won’t ever catch up to everybody else in honing her skills. It helps that everything she feels are things every reader will have experienced.

  • It emphasizes practice makes perfect.

Want to learn how to stay upright on ice skates or ensure that you don’t fly off course when you’re flying with someone in your arms? You gotta practice. Supergirl isn’t at the top of her game. She’s clumsy, and constantly bumps into things. She makes a lot of mistakes and admonishes herself for it, but she can’t do things perfectly at first try. It takes practice, and that’s what the book emphasizes. The old cliche is right: Practice will make perfect.

  • You want Supergirl to do her best.

Every time Supergirl feels sorry for herself or doesn’t believe she can be a superhero, I find myself going, “Supergirl, you got this! Never stop believing in yourself.” School can suck, and students like Supergirl will make a bunch of mistakes, but they’ll achieve greatness if they keep working hard. She can save people and kick bad guy’s butts. Just do your best, that’s all you can do.

  • There’s a lot of Barbara Gordon.

I love Barbara Gordon + Batgirl. (Yes, I am so biased that I devoted a bulletpoint to her.) When I saw she’s heavily in this book, I screeched in joy. Not only as she’s the tech girl who works at Super Hero High School, she becomes a great friend to Supergirl, rooting her own and helping her hone her powers. She’s so savvy, and extremely good to have on yourself. (I can’t wait until the next book because it’s her solo book!)

Should you read Supergirl at Super Hero High? Yes! Fans of Supergirl and DC ladies will find this Middle Grade absolutely cute and super relatable. (Even non-fans will enjoy it!) You get to see Supergirl learn to control her powers, her worries and fears, her adorable friendship with Barbara Gordon, the mystery of the Boom Tubes, and much more goodness.


 

4 Responses to “REVIEW • It’s A Bird, It’s A Plane, It’s Supergirl! (Supergirl at Super Hero High by Lisa Yee)”

  1. Helen says:

    Wow, this book looks like it’s super relatable and makes us FEEL. I like getting the FEEEEEELS! I like being able to empathize with the protagonist, so I can’t wait!

  2. Christina T says:

    This sounds fantastic! I’ll be suggesting this series to the children’s librarian for our middle grade collection.

  3. This looks SO COOL!! I’ve read another one of Lisa Yee’s books and always wanted to read more from her!!

  4. Alexa S. says:

    Supergirl at Super Hero High sounds adorable! I also find that she sounds super relatable since I was a lot like her growing up – clumsy, feeling left in the dust by my peers and just dealing with a lot of personal stuff too. I think it’s so charming that the author integrated such human things into a story about someone who’s not entirely human!


Leave a Reply