August 17, 2017 • Cee • Letters

Dear McKelle George & Speak Easy, Speak Love,

Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of romantic misunderstandings and dangerous deals in this sparkling retelling of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing.

After she gets kicked out of boarding school, seventeen-year-old Beatrice goes to her uncle’s estate on Long Island. But Hey Nonny Nonny is more than just a rundown old mansion. Beatrice’s cousin, Hero, runs a struggling speakeasy out of the basement—one that might not survive the summer.

Along with Prince, a poor young man determined to prove his worth; his brother, John, a dark and dangerous agent of the local mob; Benedick, a handsome trust-fund kid trying to become a writer; and Maggie, a beautiful and talented singer; Beatrice and Hero throw all their efforts into planning a massive party to save the speakeasy. Despite all their worries, the summer is beautiful, love is in the air, and Beatrice and Benedick are caught up in a romantic battle of wits that their friends might be quietly orchestrating in the background.

Hilariously clever and utterly charming, McKelle George’s debut novel is full of intrigue and 1920s charm. For fans of Jenny Han, Stephanie Perkins, and Anna Godbersen.Goodreads

Goddamn, I’m always a sucker for Shakespeare retellings, especially ones of Much Ado About Nothing, and you add in that it’s sent in the 1920s? You bet your butts I’m gonna want to read this book right now. Much Ado About Nothing has all of my favorite things: bickering couple who go from enemies-to-lovers, friends who conspire to get them together, and so on. Speak Easy, Speak Love is such an interesting retelling because it’s not exactly set during the present day—which is usually the time period of most of the books I’ve read on this; it’s set during the 1920s, during prohibition! YES.

Sincerely,

cee


 

One Response to “SINCERELY, CEE • A letter from yours truly to Speak Easy, Speak Love & McKelle George”

  1. I didn’t realize this was a retelling of Much Ado About Nothing & that it takes place in the 1920’s. This makes me way more interested in reading this one!


Leave a Reply